Arizona Voters approve GOP-Led Law Providing In-State Tuition for Illegal Aliens

WASHINGTON DC, JUNE 30, 2018: Gerson Quinteros (a DACA recipient from El Salvador) leads protesters from United We Dream before the rally’s start. Protestors against the Trump Administration’s immigration policies take part in a rally at Lafayette Square, then march to the Justice Department. The action in the District, known as the Families Belong Together Rally & March, is one of 700 nationwide …… (Photo by Andre Chung, Washington Post).

Arizona voters approved a Republican-led law to allow illegal aliens in-state tuition. This reverses a 2006 ban.

As Breitbart News reported last year, the Republican-majority Arizona State Legislature passed a plan for Proposition 308 to be placed on the ballot for voters to decide if they want to repeal the state’s ban against in-state tuition for illegal immigrants.

As of the last count on Monday evening, Arizona voters favored Proposition 308 by a more than 60,000 vote margin — indicating that the initiative will in fact pass and illegal aliens will now be eligible for in-state tuition.

A group of Arizona Republicans including Karrin Taylor Robson, former gubernatorial candidate, and Rusty Bowers, Arizona House Speaker (R), signed an open letter asking GOP voters to approve Proposition 308 last month.

Prop 308 is smart and right. Arizona’s Dreamers are Arizona children, and they should have the same opportunities as all other students. This is their home. Let’s ensure that college-bound Dreamers who meet the same requirements and pay the same tuition rate in-state. It is only fair. [Emphasis added]

Apart from Arizona Republicans and TheDream.US, other major donors supported the initiative’s push towards voters, including TheDream.US, partially funded by Bill Gates, The Ford Foundation and billionaire Mark Zuckerberg, along with the Koch brothers and George Soros-linked activists.

In-state tuition is now available in 22 US states and Washington, DC. These states are California, Colorado. Connecticut. Florida. Illinois. Kansas, Maryland. Minnesota. Nebraska. New Jersey. New Mexico. New York. Oregon. Texas. Utah. Virginia.

More Stories

Stay informed by joining TruthRow

24/7 coverage from 1000+ journalists. Subscriber-exclusive events. Unmatched political and international news.

You can cancel anytime